Archive | 12:38 pm

Orchestral Flash Mob

3 Jul

Two posts in one day? Yup. This one is well worth it. Thanks to the devoted Cultivated Mind reader, Annie Richardson, for sending me this video!

Here is the background on this amazingly executed orchestral flash mob advertisement:

On May 19th at six in the evening, what appeared to be a single, tuxedoed street performer playing a bass for people strolling around Plaça de Sant Roc in Sabadell, Spain (just north of Barcelona) turned into a mass ensemble performing a movement of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony — including more than 100 musicians and singers from the Orchestra Simfònica del Vallès, Amics de l’Òpera de Sabadell, Coral Belles Arts, and Cor Lieder Camera. The production is lovely and highly produced, but it’s the fascination and pure joy of the passersby that makes the moment quite magical.

Happy 4th!

3 Jul

Tomorrow is one of my favorite days, period. I love my country, and will be celebrating America all damn day. With that being said, I figured I would post this video, albeit ridiculous. This guy loves America, and is celebrating the news of Osama bin Laden’s death. He may not be what our forefathers considered a ‘patriot,’ but he does know how to tickle my sense of humor with his ludicrous antics. Enjoy the video and Celebrate hard!

